RISE AGAINST Releases Surprise New EP ‘Nowhere Generation II’

Celebrating the primary anniversary of its chart-topping, critically acclaimed ninth album “Nowhere Technology”, RISE AGAINST returns with the shock launch of a brand new EP, “Nowhere Technology II”, by way of Loma Vista Recordings. The five-song assortment — written and recorded alongside “Nowhere Technology” and that includes manufacturing by Invoice Stevenson (THE DESCENDENTS, BLACK FLAG) — is out digitally worldwide now alongside the premiere of a brand new, Ryan Valdez-directed video for its propulsive lead single “Final Man Standing”.

‘Final Man Standing’ was a method of expressing some frustration with our world with reference to exploitation, public alienation and human inequality,” explains Valdez. “As you see within the video, we’re fed by this race of survival. Solely to be taken down, no matter our success or efforts. Nearly as if the sport was rigged, designed to set us up for failure.”

The triumphantly rousing tune picks up the lyrical baton of “Nowhere Technology”‘s “Speaking To Ourselves” with a full-throated reminder of what may occur if these in energy proceed to disregard the voice of the folks. RISE AGAINST frontman Tim McIlrath delivers every line with impassioned fury, all carried on the again of huge riffs, thunderous drums, and hook-laden guitar leads from guitarist Zach Blair, bassist Joe Principe and drummer Brandon Barnes.

“I consider RISE AGAINST as dystopian artwork,” says McIlrath. “Like all good dystopian artwork endeavor, you are singing concerning the world and what it is likely to be like if we preserve happening the street we’re happening. It is the inevitable conclusion of what would occur if we preserve making the identical selections. That is what dystopian artwork is designed to do, to make you notice that and encourage you to make some modifications. ‘Final Man Standing’ is trying down that street and attempting to color an image of what it seems to be like.”

The bodily editions of “II”, due out on cassette on July 15 and on vinyl on October 28 (that includes a crimson cowl artwork variant),are actually obtainable for pre-order.

Persevering with a important dialogue between the RISE AGAINST members themselves, their followers, and the world at massive, the brand new EP seems to be past its full-length counterpart’s scrutiny of the power social, financial, and political instability and inequality that pervades the trendy age. “II” is as biting as it’s hopeful, and is an extra testomony to the resonance of a band that continues to defy the established order of contemporary rock.

“We would written 16 songs for this album after which we determined to interrupt them aside,” explains McIlrath. “Not solely may the music get misplaced, however the message may get misplaced in asking folks to hearken to this unexpectedly. I feel that is, hopefully, a simpler approach to give these points the platform and the highlight that they rightly deserve. We needed to carry onto these and provides them to our followers after we really feel like they’ve had time to correctly digest this primary batch, so these songs have been the aces up our sleeves.”

The image RISE AGAINST paints is one in every of a technology youthful than them struggling to discover a path ahead in an more and more inhospitable world. The impulse to dig into these points was spawned by McIlrath assembly followers all throughout the globe — from the USA to Australia to Japan to Germany — and every of them have been articulating related apprehensions.

“They have been speaking the identical anxieties and fears about their lives and what tomorrow goes to appear like. These fears and anxieties have been all related it doesn’t matter what language they have been talking. I simply could not ignore it after some time,” he says.

“II” closes with “Holding Patterns”, a tune the place the fireplace in RISE AGAINST‘s stomach comes roaring even additional out. Components of the observe recall the breakneck, hardcore-inspired moments that typified the band’s early years, however now function the highly effective maturity of a band nonetheless firing on all cylinders. The result’s each an impactful tune and a prescient reminder when, on the high of every refrain, McIlrath sings, “Once we are barely holding on, we maintain one another.” The chorus encapsulates the journey RISE AGAINST has been on for his or her whole profession, nevertheless it additionally serves as a succinct reminder of what II is grappling with in every tune, and offers a bit of sunshine within the all-consuming darkness.

“Nowhere Technology II” observe itemizing:

01. The Reply
02. Final Man Standing
03. This Time It is Private
04. Ache Mgmt
05. Holding Patterns

RISE AGAINST is at present touring throughout Europe and can head again out on the street this summer time in North America for a headline run that features exhibits at The Discussion board in Los Angeles (July 19) and The Rooftop at Pier 17 in NYC (August 9),with assist from THE USED and SENSES FAIL.

Picture credit score: Nedda Afsari

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top