Reviews – Scoring The End Of The World

01. Meltdown
02. Signal Of Life
03. Werewolf
04. Porcelain
05. Slaughterhouse (feat. Bryan Garris)
06. Masterpiece
07. Trigger Of Dying
08. We Turn out to be The Evening
09. Burned At Each Ends 2
10. Broadcasting From Past The Grave: Corpse Nation
11. Cyberhex
12. Pink, White & Increase (feat. Caleb Shomo)
13. Scoring The Finish Of The World (feat. Mick Gordon)

For a few years now, MOTIONLESS IN WHITE have had a three-pronged strategy to their information: metalcore, exhausting rock and industrial/digital. It is clear that the purpose for “Scoring The Finish Of The World” was to go huge, with the main target extra on the latter two genres. Whereas nobody can dispute that the manufacturing on the band’s sixth full-length is gigantic, there’s a high-quality line between anthemic and trite that is not all the time toed gracefully.

The apocalypse-themed album opens with “Meltdown”, which will get exceptionally heavy midway by way of, even veering into SLIPKNOT territory. This tune’s depth is just matched — and maybe surpassed — by “Slaughterhouse”. The mix of Chris Immobile (vocals) and Bryan Garris (KNOCKED LOOSE) is extraordinarily highly effective, and the inclusion of a hardcore breakdown with dissonant chords demonstrates a singular fusion of the 2 bands’ kinds.

However there are a number of moments on “Scoring The Finish Of The World” which can be simply cheesy, just like the wolf howls on “Werewolf” and the spoken outburst of “analysis this, motherf*****” on “B.F.B.T.G. Corpse Nation”. “Pink, White & Increase” is completely unusual, alternating between creepy, bouncy verses and stadium rock choruses. Softer songs “Porcelain” and “Masterpiece” are high-quality, however frankly do not maintain a candle to earlier ballads like “Eternally Yours” and “One other Life”. And followers who’ve been clinging to their well-worn copies of “Creatures” for the final decade plus will discover little to satiate them apart from the enigmatic tracks “Trigger Of Dying” and “Burned At Each Ends II”.

What saves them over and over is their potential to jot down a refrain. MIW‘s industrial leanings usually conflict with their extra rock-oriented elements, however when a beautiful refrain kicks in, one nearly forgets about any awkwardness. The title monitor is well-composed and, in contrast to “We Turn out to be The Evening”, is anthemic in a approach that is not tacky. Video-game composer Mick Gordon‘s (“DOOM”, “Prey”, “Killer Intuition”) affect is clearly felt right here on the album’s conclusion, one way or the other uniting all the tracks below one banner.

The large takeaway is that regardless of how unbelievable this band could be, they nonetheless haven’t managed to utterly weave all of their musical influences collectively in a approach that’s unquestionably cohesive.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top