Entertainment and World News.

Reviews – Heaven Is Here

01. Human Situation Above Human Opinion
02. Mutilation
03. Heaven is Right here
04. Worth of Utopia
05. Transcend to Moist
06. Hysteric Bliss
07. World of Shit
08. Fantasy / Greed
09. Kinesthesia
10. Perverse

Each few years, hardcore appears to endure some type of involuntary renaissance. Latest instances have seen the style changing into reacquainted with its cerebral, left-field instincts, with bands like CODE ORANGE, FULL OF HELL and the UK’s HERIOT flagrantly twisting the template to their very own scattershot, boundary-defying designs. Not that “Heaven Is Right here” provides any indication that its creators are lining up as a part of some new scene. CANDY‘s music is unpredictable and untamed, and the aggression and negativity that emanates from these fractured, ferocious songs feels so instinctive and actual that comparisons with different bands are rendered redundant. “Heaven Is Right here” is the type of report that exists to scrape the emotional plate clear, and hardcore is a mere place to begin.

The primary 20 minutes of the Individuals’ second album is sort of a sustained carpet bombing of the senses. Kicking off with a storm of atonal grind, “Human Situation Above Human Opinion” is sledgehammer heavy and deeply hostile. Because the tempos gradual, CANDY click on right into a extra punishing gear, shrouded in suggestions and noise and squinting inwards with militant dedication. “Mutilation” switches from teeth-shattering power-violence to tripped-out, psychedelic noise rock, earlier than the title observe erupts in a blizzard of white-light violence and lurching sludge.

Admittedly, there are many riffs that tether CANDY to recognizable musical tropes, however the sheer weight of the band’s vitriol offsets each one in every of them. Consequently, “Heaven Is Right here” is as claustrophobic and hypnotic as it’s brutal. Peppered with shards of summary noise, pugnacious assaults like “Worth of Utopia” and “World of Shit” flip howling nihilism and sonic anarchy into symbiotic bedfellows. In the meantime, CANDY get even additional out on “Transcend to Moist”: a surreal deluge of fucked-up electronics and lysergic queasiness. “Kinesthesia” is equally hair-raising, as malevolent robots march by means of an avalanche of glitching noise.

Grand finale “Perverse” takes the hallucinatory biscuit. Ten minutes of hyper-abrasive, freeform noise, it condenses the essence of the songs that precede it and spews it again out as a ultimate act of bilious defiance. Followers of MERZBOW will in all probability discover it fairly stress-free. Everybody else wants to show the quantity up and embrace the sound of a band with nothing in need of complete annihilation on their bloody, fire-damaged agenda. CANDY are terrifying however plain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.