Entertainment and World News.

MACHINE HEAD: Making Of ‘Of Kingdom And Crown’ Album Part 2 (Video)

San Francisco Bay Space metallic titans MACHINE HEAD will launch their tenth studio album, “Of Kingdom And Crown”, on August 26 through Nuclear Blast/Imperium Recordings. The follow-up to 2018’s “Catharsis” consists of the three songs that have been featured on final yr’s “Arrows In Phrases From The Sky” single: “Grow to be The Firestorm”, “Rotten” and “Arrows In Phrases From The Sky”. A lot of the brand new MACHINE HEAD album was recorded at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, California with engineer/producer Zack Ohren.

Again in December 2021, drummer Navene Koperweis (ANIMALS AS LEADERS, ENTHEOS, ANIMOSITY) joined guitarist/vocalist Robb Flynn, bassist Jared MacEachern and Ohren at Sharkbite Studios to jam on the ultimate tracks for “Of Kingdom And Crown” and add some ending touches to the songs.

The second in a sequence of webisodes that includes behind-the-scenes footage from the making of “Of Kingdom And Crown” might be seen beneath.

“Of Kingdom And Crown” is a 13-track idea album set in a decimated futuristic wasteland the place the sky is stained crimson pink. The crux of the story relies on two most important characters: the primary and most important character is Ares (pronounced Aries),who loses the love of his life (Amethyst) and goes on a murderous rampage in opposition to the vile sect liable for her homicide; the second character is the perpetrator Eros (pronounced Arrows),who loses his mom to a drug overdose and turns into radicalized within the aftermath. Eros goes off the deep finish manifesting his personal killing spree. The lyrics element how their lives intertwine.

Flynn commented: “Because of my two teenage boys, my household has turn out to be obsessive about this superior Japanese anime sequence known as ‘Assault On Titan’. The album’s idea was loosely impressed by the sequence within the sense that within the storyline there isn’t any ‘good’ or ‘unhealthy’ man; each characters consider they’re doing the suitable factor because it applies to their being, however make no mistake, each are committing acts of pure atrocity and evil. The opening monitor ‘Slaughter The Martyr’ is principally our character No. 1’s origin story.”

The colossal idea comes with an inventory of equally colossal packaging for numerous bodily codecs together with 16 completely different worldwide vinyl codecs, deluxe vinyl field set (with bonus tracks),CDs (each old-school longbox and jewel field choices),multi-color cassettes, and a limited-edition digipak with bonus tracks. CDs, digipak, cassettes, and all digital codecs can be out there on August 26, with all vinyl codecs arriving on November 25.

“Of Kingdom And Crown” monitor itemizing:

01. Slaughter The Martyr
02. Choke On The Ashes Of Your Hate
03. Grow to be The Firestorm
04. Overdose
05. My Arms Are Empty
06. Unhallowed
07. Assimilate
08. Kill Thy Enemies
09. No Gods, No Masters
10. Bloodshot
11. Rotten
12. Terminus
13. Arrows In Phrases From The Sky

Digipak CD bonus tracks:

14. Exteroception *
15. Arrows In Phrases From The Sky (acoustic)*

Flynn lately informed Metallic Hammer journal concerning the musical course of the brand new MACHINE HEAD materials: “It is just like [2003’s ‘Through The Ashes Of Empires’ and 2007’s ‘The Blackening’] in that we’re transferring ahead into one thing recent and new however it’s obtained that basic MACHINE HEAD vibe. Now we have quite a bit to ship and expectations are very excessive, so I am fortunate to have nice folks surrounding me. Jared actually stepped up and wrote some nice riffs and nice vocals. Vogg [guitarist Wacław Kiełtyka] contributed just a few concepts and introduced some actually nice songs.”

He continued: “It is fucking heavy, in all probability the heaviest we have been in just a few albums. I have been enjoying a lot guitar lately; I do Electrical Completely happy Hours each Friday and typically you play a music you have not performed in 10, 20 years, or undergo a complete album from high to backside. After we toured ‘Burn My Eyes’, it took me again to the place I used to be writing that music. I do not assume I can ever be in that place once more lyrically, however riff-wise, I believe that every one spilled into this album.”

This previous February, MacEachern informed Primordial Radio about his contributions to MACHINE HEAD‘s new album: “I believe that I used to be very conscious from day one which Robb is the chief, he is the artistic chief, the musical chief… All of us have our inputs however I believe it is all the time understood that finally the choice is as much as him for the way issues go. However, yeah, I undoubtedly made contributions and I really feel nice about these contributions and I am requested about my opinion on sure issues. However, like I stated, I am following his lead.”

As for the sound of the brand new MACHINE HEAD LP, Jared stated: “It is a fairly — to make use of Robb‘s phrase… I consider he used the phrase ‘colossal’ the opposite day. It is a fairly big-, epic-sounding album. We have been toying round with the order, however I have been listening, sitting down, taking the time to take heed to it all over, and the way in which it goes, it is a trip — a very nice, heavy, stunning, melodic, raging, thrashing trip.”

In November 2020, MACHINE HEAD launched a single, “My Arms Are Empty”, through Nuclear Blast. The music marked the primary musical collaboration between Flynn and authentic “Burn My Eyes” guitarist Logan Mader in 24 years.

“My Arms Are Empty” was only one in a line of singles to be launched by MACHINE HEAD, which issued “Do Or Die” in October 2019, “Circle The Drain” in February 2020, and the two-song digital single “Civil Unrest”, consisting of “Cease The Bleeding” and “Bulletproof”, in June 2020. “Cease The Bleeding” featured visitor vocals from KILLSWITCH ENGAGE frontman Jesse Leach, and was written and recorded simply days after the murders of George Floyd and Ahmaud Arbery.

MACHINE HEAD will group up with Sweden’s Viking metallic overlords AMON AMARTH for a co-headline “Vikings And Lionhearts” European enviornment tour in September and October. Assist on the trek will come from THE HALO EFFECT, the brand new band that includes 5 former members of IN FLAMES: Peter Iwers, Daniel Svensson, Jesper Strömblad, Niclas Engelin and Mikael Stanne.

“Catharsis” was the ultimate album to characteristic guitarist Phil Demmel and drummer Dave McClain, who each left MACHINE HEAD in October 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.